Invictus Team 2020 announced 

Invictus co-captains Sgt. (ret’d) Nadia Duranleau and CWO Rock Ferland, along with the rest of Team Canada 2020, were revealed and celebrated in a ceremony at Ottawa City Hall on Wednesday.

“The Invictus Games are a testament to remarkable resilience and courage. I am proud of the members of Team Canada and want to extend my very best wishes to each of them. I know they will represent our country with the highest levels of skill, effort, and integrity. Good luck to all athletes participating at the Invictus Games The Hague 2020,” said Gen. Jonathan Vance, Chief of the Defence, as he introduced this year’s co-captains.

The two co-captains and the rest of the team of 30 former and currently serving Canadian Armed Forces members will compete at The Hague, Netherlands this year from May 9-16. They will be competing against more than 500 competitors from 20 nations taking part in 10 adaptive sports.

This year’s co-captains  

Co-captain Sgt. Duranleau served for 20 years in the CAF as an army cook. She retired from the military in 2001 and is now looking forward to the opportunity of representing Canada once again.

“I was fortunate enough to have been selected last year from Soldier On to be on Team Canada. That alone was a tremendous honour and experience, so on top of that to be named co-captain is just mind-blowing,” said Duranleau.

Co-captain Duranleau will be taking part in swimming, rowing, and basketball at this year’s games.

This year’s other co-captain is currently serving Chief Warrant Officer Ferland. Ferland has been serving for more than 30 years and has spent most of his military career working on CH 124 Sea Kings and CH 146 Griffon helicopters.

“Quite frankly, when I applied, I never thought I would be here today. So, just to be selected was a shock. Now to be captain…it’s such an honour,” said Ferland.

Co-captain Ferland will be taking part in cycling, track and field, and wheelchair rugby at this year’s games.

Thoughts from Ministers

Both Minister Harjit Sajjan, minister of national defence, and Lawrence MacAulay, minister of veterans affairs and associate minister of national defence were in attendance at Wednesday’s ceremony.

“Being chosen for Team Canada is a tremendous, tremendous achievement. And there is no doubt that every single one of you will represent Canada and the CAF well,” said Sajjan.

MacAulay also echoed sentiments of pride for the team.

“We’re here today to announce an incredible group of competitors who have chosen once again to wear the maple leaf on their uniform, and we’re so proud,” said the VAC minister.

For complete bios on each Team Canada 2020 member click here.  


Show More

Mishall Rehman

Originally from Atlanta, GA, Mishall is a freelance journalist pursuing her passion for writing in her new homeland Canada. She currently lives in Trenton, ON with her husband.

Leave a Reply

Canadian Military Family Magazine