CF Families

Web-Based Workshop on Applying for Scholarships

Do you have a Grade 10, 11 or 12 student in your household or seeking scholarship dollars for yourself? The upcoming Applying for Scholarships workshop is for you!

The Halifax & Region Military Family Resource Centre has added another date to its well-received workshop titled Scholarships; Find the Hidden Dollar Part 1. 

The one hour and forty-five-minute workshop will take place Thursday, February 27, (8 p.m. AST, 7 p.m. EST, 6 p.m. CST, 5 p.m. MST, 4 p.m. PST) from the comfort of your personal device – all you need to do is simply log into a WebEx conference call. 

Feeling overwhelmed by all the information regarding preparing for university? There are more than 5 million dollars in scholarship funds that go unclaimed each year simply because no one has applied. Learn where to find scholarship dollars and break scholarship myths. Be reminded that scholarships are for everyone from 16 to 96 years young.

New this year, the workshop is facilitated by Janet MacDonald, National scholarship coach from My Campus GPS, who will share her expertise with tips on how to write a winning scholarship essay.

MacDonald has over 10 years of experience with university admissions and scholarship consulting. She was an Assistant Registrar of Admissions at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and an Admissions Officer at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. 

MacDonald says, “My Campus GPS was created in response to the confusion and anxiety high school students and their parents face when preparing for university. There are so much information and so many choices — it can feel overwhelming! What I learned in over a decade of experience working in university admission and scholarship consulting is this: most often, what young people need is for someone with the right information and expertise to help guide them, step-by-step, through the process. That’s what I do!”

Register today to save your spot by clicking here.

You can also visit here to learn more about what services Janet offers.

Tags
Show More

Tonya De Agostinis

From Montreal, Tonya joined the military community late in life when her husband joined the forces after a public service career. Now in Kingston, she is navigating the trials and blessings that come from having her own career, raising children, and being the partner of someone on a high readiness unit and the DART.

Leave a Reply

Close